26 February 2021

The Angels | Byrd, Harvey, Purcell, Palestrina Les Métaboles, Léo Warynski


« The Angels » – les Métaboles’s third album with NoMadMusic – immerses the listener in the meanders of spiritual music. The musical works by Purcell, Byrd and Palestrina – all frontmen for 17th century polyphonic music – resonate with those composed by a major figure in contemporary music: Jonathan Harvey.

Under Léo Warynski’s direction, les Métaboles breathe life into the magnificent tradition of English choral music: from Winchester to the monks’ former dining hall at Royaumont, where the album was recorded, the Gothic walls of the abbeys all embrace this sublime music, magnified by their acoustics.


  • 1 Byrd: Ave verum corpus 4:26
  • 2 Harvey: I Love the Lord 4:50
  • 3 Harvey: Come Holy Ghost 6:56
  • 4 Harvey: Plainsongs for Peace and Light 7:21
  • 5 Purcell: Remember not, Lord, our offences 2:59
  • 6 Harvey: Remember, O Lord 3:12
  • 7 Palestrina: Stabat Mater 7:25
  • 9 Harvey: The Angels 4:27


Aucun concert pour le moment.